TAX SALE INFORMATION (March 3, 2025)

The following is subject to change and does not constitute legal advice. ****VERY IMPORTANT** there are new** statutes governing the process of purchasing thru foreclosing on Tax Sale Certificates. Be sure to review the statutes as there are things you must do (some immediately) after purchase. We are not attorneys and therefore cannot provide any guidance. It is incumbent that you understand the complexity of this process. If you fail to comply with the statutes governing tax sales, you can lose a lot or all of your money. These are the rules of the sale. You have agreed to these rules by your participation.

READ CAREFULLY:

Whether you have visited us before or whether you are new, you must read the paragraph on tax sale procedures below.

Registration Fees- every registrant must pay a non-refundable registration fee of \$25 prior to the date of sale in order to participate.

Tax Sale Fee- the fee to purchase a tax sale is \$20 per tax certificate and continues to be non- refundable.

Assignment fee- fees for either are \$20 each plus notary fee if required.

LOCATION:

The tax sale will be held at the Plattsmouth Community Center, located at 308 S. 18th St, Plattsmouth, Nebraska. Parking is available behind the building. Entrance to the sale is behind the building where you will be parking. PLEASE DO NOT PARK IN FRONT OF THE BUILDING, AS THOSE ARE RESERVED FOR THE SENIOR COMMUNITY CENTER AND YOU MAY BE TOWED.

REGISTRATION (there is a statutory \$25 fee per registered entity)

Tax sales are held on the first Monday in March generally starting at 8:00 A.M. The building will be opened at 7:30 A.M. and the sale starts promptly at 8:00 A.M. If you are late you will come in at the end of the pack after the current bidding round is completed. You must present or mail payment for the \$25 registration fee so it arrives prior to the date of the tax sale. We ask that all participants PRE-REGISTER and have their checks in the office by Wednesday, February 26, 2025.

BIDDER REGISTRATION:

Bidder registration form available on our website <u>WWW.CASSCOUNTYNE.GOV</u> W-9 form available on our website <u>WWW.CASSSCOUNTYNE.GOV</u>

QUALIFIED BIDDERS:

Bidders must be separate and distinct bidders. This policy is common throughout Nebraska. Each bidder must have a different social security number or federal tax ID number. Also please

See **ASSIGNMENTS** later in this document. Each company/entity will receive a separate bidder number.

NOTICE:

Delinquent taxes are advertised in the Sarpy County Times for the first three weeks in February. You may obtain a copy from the newspaper or newsstands. You may also view and print a copy at our website, <u>WWW.CASSCOUNTYNE.GOV.</u> You may then go to the GIS page to view properties on the web site.

THE TAX SALE:

The sale is conducted in the round robin format used extensively in Nebraska. You will have received a number when you signed in. After all numbers are distributed the treasurer will pick a number at random. That number will be the first person to be offered the first parcel on the tax sale list.

We then go to the first available parcel, in amount order, and the first buyer (number selected at random) will have the option of purchasing the tax sale for all delinquent back taxes and fees on that parcel. There is a \$20 fee which is non-refundable upon tax sale redemption. If the first bidder chooses not to purchase the sale then the second bidder (person with the next highest number) has the option and so on. If you pass on your turn you are done for the round of sale until we have gone through all other bidders.

Please note that the dollar amounts in the newspaper do not include delinquent interest and may include multiple years of back taxes so be prepared to pay more than published. THERE ARE NO REFUNDS ON PURCHASED TAX CERTIFICATES. IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY TO KNOW WHAT YOU ARE BUYING.

Cell phones will be OFF or on VIBRATE. If you should have to leave the room for any reason the tax sale will continue without you. You may therefore miss your turn.

EXEMPTIONS:

We do not sell tax sales on properties already on tax sale, properties in bankruptcy or properties which are owned by government entities. If you buy a tax sale on a parcel which later goes into bankruptcy or is taken over by a government entity you will need to see a lawyer. We generally skip Leasehold Interest during the tax sale. You are welcome to buy them. However, very few people want them.

STATUTES NEBRASKA REV STATUTES 77-1801.....

Section 18 of Chapter 77 deals with tax sales and certificates. You may view the chapter at <u>http://statues.unicam.state.ne.us/</u> or some local libraries. You are not purchasing the property. You have no authority over the property or its disposition whatsoever. You are purchasing a tax lien on the property by paying the back taxes. In three years' time you can take action to foreclose on the property if the tax sale you bought is not redeemed. You will certainly want to see a lawyer. Fees for foreclosure have been quoted to be \$750 and up. During the three years you can pay subsequent delinquent taxes as they become delinquent on May 1 and September 1 of each following year. Do not call us until the third week or later of theses months because we will not sell any subsequent taxes until we are done processing all the people paying current taxes.

There are statutory **time limits** which determine the life of a tax sale certificate. If you don't take action to foreclose within the statutory time limits you will likely LOSE your entire investment. Do not wait until the end of the time limit. Statutory requirements include notification timelines that must be met prior to that. We do not provide any notification of these expiring time limits nor do we advise you on how to foreclose on a tax sale or to obtain a tax deed.

RULES OF THE SALE:

The following are the rules of participation in our tax sale which are designed to protect the taxpayers of Cass County. If we have to make a decision on an issue that is not statutory we will almost always defer to the taxpayer who lives here, owns property here and is therefore paying taxes here.

Upon completion of bidding, or whenever you are done bidding, you will be expected to provide a blank check payable to the Cass County Treasurer. You can also stamp on the back of the check "for deposit only". We will then process your tax sales in a timely fashion and mail or email you copies of the certificates. We hold the originals here to reduce overhead and protect you from their loss during mailing. A lost certificate requires a bond.

Virtually no one will sell you a bond on a tax sale certificate since it is a negotiable document. When we have computed a total purchase amount we will process your check and send it to the bank. We will be happy to email you with your total purchase check amount. It usually takes about 10 business days to complete all of the paperwork.

The certificates must be issued in the name that you designated on your W-9 when you registered. After the certificates are produced you will have to pay the \$20 reassignment fee to change certificate ownership name(s) or to actually assign the certificate to someone else.

REDEMPTION:

When a tax certificate is redeemed you will be paid a 14% simple interest rate from the date of sale to the date of redemption. Please note the \$20 purchase fee is not reimbursed. Your check will be sent out approximately 10 days later when we are sure the redemption check clears the

bank. You can keep track of your tax sales at <u>www.nebraskataxesonline.us</u> by simply searching by parcel. If there is no longer a tax sale in the tax sale block then it has been redeemed.

LEFTOVERS:

After the sale and after all the paperwork is processed there are usually some delinquent parcels where the delinquent taxes are still un-purchased. Please do not contact us for at least 10 days after the sale. Be very careful of buying something no one else wanted.

ASSIGNMENTS:

There is a \$20 fee for assignments. There will be NO assignments whatsoever the day of the sale. The tax certificates will be issued in the name of the parties claiming to be buying the certificates. Any assignments within 45 days will require a notarized letter directing the assignment, the \$20 fee and a copy of the cancelled check to the assignor demonstrating that due consideration has been given for the tax certificate. This is being enforced to protect the equitability of the sale for all participants.

DEEDS:

We are not issuing Treasurer's Deeds. You will need to foreclose thru the courts. There are statutory timelines involved in both methods. You would be well advised to contact an attorney to be sure all requirements are met, so that you do not lose your investment.

FORECLOSURE ACTION:

We do not provide legal advice on foreclosure actions. However, one of your statutory responsibilities are to notify the treasurer's office if a foreclosure action is filed. Failure to do so could result in you not receiving various foreclosure fees.

POST TAX SALE QUESTIONS:

Email us with your after-sale questions. Our number one priority in this office is the taxpayers of Cass County.

SUBSEQUENT PAYMENTS:

You may pay the subsequent taxes once they become delinquent, although you are not required to do this. Until we have completed the processing of all taxes paid by taxpayers you will not be able to purchase the subsequent delinquent taxes. We do not send you reminders or bills. Please contact us about the third week of May or September to pay subsequent delinquent taxes.